Try to think about it this way. If you drive 10,000 visitors per month and manage to generate 100 leads of which ten convert into customers, then it means that your conversion rate is 1%. Now, if you would like to increase the rate at 2%, then you would have to drive 20,000 visits per month and hope that the number of leads will double as well.
That’s not a sustainable long-term strategy, as solely focusing on driving more traffic won’t fix the problem. Conversion rate optimization, on the other hand, allows you to identify the areas that can drive more revenue for your business.